< back to latest

Nina Halasova Interview

  • Nina Halasova 1

What’s your favorite spot/location to be active?
My favorite spot is in Uganda. I also like others spots for kayaking but Uganda is the place where we are going in the winter after hard and cold trainings in Slovakia. So every time we are counting the days and trainings until we leave and go to this warm place. Training in Uganda also means the start of the new season. This is the time when I’m full of energy and 100% focused to paddle. I enjoy the time there a lot.

How do you prepare for a project/contest?
Freestyle kayaking started to be a serious sport. If you want to be good you need to train hard. The top paddlers train almost every day all year long. We do the same. We have a kayaking season when we just paddle and do some small other activities and then we have a winter season where we’re training in a gym to get power and do cardio training to stay fit. Each of these trainings is hard. Especially if you train twice a day as we do. But a very important thing is not to forget your regeneration.

What are your biggest accomplishments?
3th place at European Championships 2008, 5 times Euro Cup overall winner in a row,1st place at World Cup 2010, 4th place at World Championships 2011, 4 times a Slovak Champion in a row.

What are your next goals related to your sport?
I want to win the European Championship and a medal at the World Championships, so I am working on it.

Who do you look up to, who motivates you?
The first freestyle kayaker I met was Peter Csonka. He inspired me to start kayaking. I can say I admire him because he is very motivated and talented paddler. But I also remember a few girls from when I started kayaking. It was Jutta Kaiser, Tanya Shuman, Ingrit Schlott.

Who is your favorite guy to hang out with/be active with?
It is quite hard to find someone who you can train with. I am happy to have such a good boyfriend like Peter is. We like to hang out with our friends but if they cannot go we have a fun even without them.

What’s your ‘2nd‘ sport?
When I was younger, I loved to snowboard. Now it is harder to find the time for it. We use to go to Africa during the winter to train so we don’t have much time for winter sports. I really like cross country skiing too. Last year I bought a mountain bike so I hope I will find some time to ride it.

What’s your favorite thing to do on a day off?
I love to chill out. When I have a rest day and nothing to do, I like to spend my time in nature and read books or just chill in my camping chair.

What’s your favorite adidas product and why?
During the winter, I love my light down jacket. It keeps me warm and it looks sweet. When I travel for kayaking, I always take in my Terrex Gore-Tex shoes, Gore-Tex jacket and my Terrex pants. For kayaking I like to wear the boat lace shoes which look very stylish.